Judges for 2019 Class

Zita Arocha

Director of Borderzine.com

Aman Batheja

Deputy Weekend Editor, Washington Bureau, New York Times

Mike Beaudet

Professor of the Practice, Northeastern University. Investigative Reporter, WCVB-TV

Christina Bellantoni

Director of Annenberg Media Center, Annenberg School of Communication and Journalism

Zuri Berry

Senior Managing Editor for WAMU in Washington, D.C.

Alison Bethel McKenzie

Executive Director, Society of Professional Journalists

Clara Bingham

Journalist, Author and Documentary Film Producer

Jennifer Borage

Digital Content Specialist, Mercer University. Formerly Senior Editor, Telegraph in Macon, Georgia.

Dr. Milbert O. Brown

Communication Faculty, Washington Adventist University

Rob Byers

Senior Local News Editor, Louisville Courier-Journal

Deborah Caldwell

Editor, The Foundry. Formerly senior editor at Time, Inc, Readers Digest, Beliefnet

Kelly Carr

Freelance Investigative Reporter, 2016 Boston Globe Spotlight Fellow, Director at Quinlan

Laura Castañeda

Professor of Professional Practice, Annenberg School of Communication and Journalism

Eve Conant

Correspondent, National Geographic

Matthew Cooper

Contributing Editor, Washingtonian and Washington Monthly

Margarita Diaz

Associate Professor Journalism, Quinnipiac University

Anh Do

Metro Reporter, Los Angeles Times

Sharif Durhams

Senior Editor for News and Alerting, CNN Digital. President, National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association

Susan Feeney

Partner, GMMB. Former Senior Editor, NPR’s Morning Edition and All Things Considered

Sara Ganim

Hearst Journalism Fellow, University of Florida’s Brechner Center. Formerly Washington Correspondent, CNN

Juan Pablo Garnham

Urban Affairs Reporter, Texas Tribune. Former Senior Producer, In the Thick.

Ted Gest

Washington Bureau Chief, TheCrimeReport.org. President, Criminal Justice Journalists

Jennifer Griffin

National Security Correspondent, Fox News

Katie Hawkins-Gaar

Journalism Consultant. Organizer, Poynter’s Leadership Academy for Women in Digital Media

Melinda Henneberger

Columnist & Editorial Board Member, The Kansas City Star

Robert Hernandez

Associate Professor of Professional Practice, USC Annenberg

Rod Hicks

Journalist on Call, Society of Professional Journalists

Deirdre Hughes

Director of Media Portfolio, The Charles Koch Institute

Mitra Kalita

Vice President for Programming, CNN Digital

Sheila Kaplan

Public Health Reporter, New York Times

Thomas Kapsidelis

Former Metro Editor, The Richmond Times-Dispatch. Author, After Virginia Tech: Guns, Safety, and Healing in the Era of Mass Shootings

Kimberly Kleman

Former Editor-in-Chief of Consumer Reports

Rebeca Leber

Climate, Energy & Environment Reporter, Mother Jones

Mira Lowe

Assistant Dean and Director of Innovation News Center, University of Florida

Pete Madden

Investigative Editor, ABC News

Ju-Don Marshall

Chief Content Officer, WFAE in North Carolina. Former ME WashingtonPost.com

Brendan McCarthy

Deputy Projects Editor, The Boston Globe

Dan McGowan

Emmy-Award Winning Reporter, WPRI-TV in Rhode Island

Michele McLellan

Local News Researcher & Data Analyst, Michele’s List, INN Index

Graciela Mochkofsky

Director, Spanish-Language Program, Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY

Jenni Monet

Award-Winning Journalist on Indigenous Rights and Injustice, Tribal Citizen of the Pueblo of Laguna

Stacy Morford

Senior Editor, InsideClimate News

Timothy Morgan

Director, Journalism Certificate Program, Wheaton College

Simon Moya-Smith

Writer, NBC News & CNN

Judy Muller

Professor Emeritus, USC Annenberg School of Journalism

Meredith Nierman

Director of Photography and Executive Digital Producer, WGBH

Sia Nyorkor

Region II Director, National Association of Black Journalists

Miguel Paz

Journalist & Professor, Nieman Berkman Fellow ’15, Harvard University

Lisa Pecot-Hébert

Director of Journalism, Annenberg School of Communication and Journalism

María Peña

Washington Correspondent, La Opinión/ Impremedia

Elise Pepple

General Manager, Marfa Public Radio

Tracie Powell

Founder, AllDigitocracy.org & Senior Fellow, Democracy Fund

Will Pry

Former Editor of the News Vertical, Dallas Morning News

Fran Scarlett

Chief Knowledge Officer, Institute for Nonprofit News

Linda Shockley

Managing Director, Dow Jones News Fund

Jack Shuler

Director, Center for Narrative Journalism at Denison University

Geraldine Sealey

Managing Editor, The Marshall Project

Corrine Segal

Senior Editor, Literary Hub. Former Senior Multimedia Web Editor, PBS NewsHour Weekend

Peter Slevin

Associate Professor, Medill School of Journalism

Alexandra Smith

Growth Director, WhereBy.Us

Erna Smith

Professor of Professional Practice, Annenberg School of Communication

Kerry Smith

Senior Vice President of Editorial Quality, ABC News

Todd South

Reporter, Military Times. 2014 Pulitzer Prize Finalist

Mizell Stewart III

Vice President / News Operations, Gannett & the USA Today Network

Stephanie Sy

Correspondent, PBS NewsHour

Melissa Tamplin Harrison

Managing Director, The Media Project

Doris Truong

Director of Training and Diversity, Poynter

Nikki Usher

Associate Professor, The University of Illinois & George Washington University

Ann Vaughan

Former Investigative Reporter, Wall Street Journal

Doualy Xaykaothao

Newscaster, NPR

Molly Yanity

Associate Professor of Journalism, Quinnipiac University

Jeff Young

Managing Editor, Ohio Valley ReSource

Kristen Young

Co-Founder, InvestigateWest